

# MINUTES BOURNS COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING MEETING OF THE FACULTY June 10, 2015, 3:00pm Winston Chung Hall 205-206

## Attending:

Reza Abbaschian, Dean Chinya Ravishankar, Associate Dean Sharon Walker, Associate Dean

Akula Venkatram, Chair, Executive Committee

Nael Abu-Ghazaleh Guillermo Aguilar Alex Balandin Matt Barth Phillip Christopher Marek Chrobak Jay Farrell

Yingbo Hua David Jassby Tao Jiang Zak Kassas

Elaine Haberer

Eammon Keogh Sandeep Kumar Roger Lake Huinan Liu Jianlin Liu Hamed Mohssensian-Rad

Dimitrios Morikis
Tassos Mourikis
Nosang Myung
Walid Najjar
Marko Princevac
K K Ramakrishnan
Masaru Rao

Amit Roy-Chowdhury Christian Shelton Tom Stahovich Kawai Tam Kambiz Vafai Sharon Walker Albert Wang Ian Wheeldon Jianzhong Wu Guanshui Xu

### Also Attending:

Susana Aparicio Mitch Boretz Oscar Caso Nancy Ford Robert Godoy Tom Gregory Pat Hartney Madie Heersink Janna LeBlanc
Angela Meluski
Eilene Montoya
Isaac OwusuFrimpong
Alissa Rackstraw
Becki Jo Ray
Laura Schulte

Maggie Souder Rod Smith Paul Talavera Adrienne Thomas Isidra Villalobos Jun Wang Hong Xu

# 1. Welcome by the Chairperson, Akula (Venky) Venkatram

- Meeting was called to order at 3:20 p.m.
- Akula Venkatram welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- Minutes from the June 10, 2016 meeting were presented by A. Venkatram and approved (motion 1: M. Barth; motion 2: E. Keogh).

## 2. State of the College Presentation

- (Copies of the presentation are posted on College intranet)
- Presented by Dean Abbaschian to include all information regarding
- Undergraduate Program (information prepared by Associate Dean Sharon Walker)
- Graduate Education & Research (information prepared by Associate Dean Chinya Ravishankar)
- A video was shown for a year in review of College Activities (prepared by A. Meluski)

### 3. Faculty Action Items

# A. A Year in Review & Discussions

- A year in review of Executive Committee activities were reviewed (copies of the presentation may be obtained from College Intranet)
- Professor Venkatram announced the names of BCOE faculty members that are currently serving on Academic Senate committees and thanked them for doing so.
   Professor Venkatram provided a presentation of the activities and the accomplishments of the Executive Committee.

# **B. Executive Committee Members/Elections**

Nominations were presented:

Single nomination was made for

Dimitrios Morikis – BIEN Representative (approved)

Tom Stahovich – Chair (approved)

# 4. Special Acknowledgement and Farewell for R. Abbaschian

- A. Venkatram thanked R. Abbaschian for his service as Dean for the past decade
- Award (diamond themed trophy) and a faculty sighed and dedicated award was presented
- A slideshow was shown highlighting events covering R. Abbaschian tenure as Dean

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 pm – dinner followed