

MINUTES BOURNS COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING MEETING OF THE FACULTY June 10, 2015, 3:00pm Winston Chung Hall 205-206

Zak Kassas

Attending:

Reza Abbaschian, Dean Chinya Ravishankar, Associate Dean Mark Matsumoto, Associate Dean

Akula Venkatram, Chair, Executive Committee

Nael Abu-Ghazaleh
Guillermo Aguilar
Alex Balandin
Matt Barth
Gerardo Beni
Harvey Blanch
Phillip Christopher
Marek Chrobak
Jay Farrell
Javier Garay
Elaine Haberer
Susan Hackwood
Yingbo Hua
David Jassby

Eammon Keogh
Sandeep Kumar
Roger Lake
Huinan Liu
Jianlin Liu
Lorenzo Mangolini
Hamed Mohssensian-Rad
Dimitrios Morikis
Tassos Mourikis
Nosang Myung
Walid Najjar

K K Ramakrishnan Masaru Rao Victor Rodgers Amit Roy-Chowdhury Christian Shelton Tamar Shinar

Iuliuan Neamtiu

Marko Princevac

Tom Stahovich Kawai Tam Sheldon Tan Vassilis Tsotras Kambiz Vafai Sharon Walker Albert Wang Ian Wheeldon Jianzhong Wu Guanshui Xu Ruoxue Yan

Also Attending:

Tao Jiang

Susana Aparicio
Vickie Austin
Roseanna Barron
Bill Bingham
Mitch Boretz
Tara Brown
Bill Carter
Oscar Caso
Kim Claffey
John Cleary
Cherysa Cortez
Nicole Davis
Katie Dell
Tom Durbin
Nancy Ford

Robert Godoy

Tom Gregory
Pat Hartney
Madie Heersink
Kent Johnson
Janna LeBlanc
Evelyn Luna
Isidra Martinez
Matt McCormick
Angela Meluski
Eilene Montoya
Erin Murphy
Emily Nudge
Isaac Owusu-Frimpong

Isaac Owusu-Frimpong Linda Parker Rhonda Peterson Terri Phonharath Alissa Rackstraw Steve Ramirez Becki Jo Ray **Dennis Rice** Luis Sandoval Laura Schulte Alicia Serrano Maggie Souder **Rod Smith** Paul Talavera Adrienne Thomas Isidra Villalobos Jun Wang Reneisha Wilkes Guoyuan Wu Hong Xu

1. Welcome by the Chairperson, Akula (Venky) Venkatram

- Meeting was called to order at 3:10 p.m.
- Akula Venkatram welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- Minutes from the June 2, 2014 meeting were presented and approved.

2. State of the College Presentation

- (Copies of the presentation are posted on College intranet)
- Presented by Dean Abbaschian to include all information regarding
- Undergraduate Program (information prepared by Associate Dean Chinya Ravishankar)
- Graduate Education & Research (information prepared by Associate Dean Mark Matsumoto)
- A video was shown for a year in review of College Activities –theme for slideshow was Jeopardy (the TV game show)
- A video regarding the 25th anniversary celebration was also shown

3. Faculty Action Items

A. A Year in Review & Discussions

- A year in review of Executive Committee activities were reviewed (copies of the presentation may be obtained from College Intranet)
- Professor Venkatram announced the names of BCOE faculty members that are currently serving on Academic Senate committees and thanked them for doing so.
 Professor Venkatram provided a presentation of the activities and the accomplishments of the Executive Committee.
- Discussions included the following:
 - The role of the BCOE faculty within other Senate Committees is very important. The job/role of any faculty member is not to simply keep agreeing with administration but to make some noise and make a difference. Membership requires engagement. Issues need a champion and dealing with such issues will take time and effort.
 - Endowed Chairs this became a major issue for some campuses because some campuses allow for anonymous donors. The concern here is what if such a donor was a tobacco company?
 - Academic Salary Increases this needs further discussion as to how it will be implemented
 - Cluster Hiring a poll was taken with the faculty in attendance to see who supported cluster hiring and only four faculty indicated that they liked it.

B. Executive Committee Members/Elections

Nominations were presented:

Single nomination was made for

Xin Gee – CEE Representative (approved)

Amit Roy-Chowdhury – ECE Representative (approved)

Lorenzo Mangolini – ME Representative (approved)

Announcement of Akula Venkatram to serve one more year (2015-16) as Chair of the Faculty of BCOE

4. Service Awards

Service Awards for Pioneer Faculty were presented to:

- Jay Farrell (present)
- Matthew Barth (present)
- Ping Liang (absent)
- Gerardo Beni (present)

Service Awards for Pioneer Academic Researchers were presented to:

- Tom Durbin (present)
- Kent Johnson (present)
- Dennis Fitz (absent)
- Bill Carter (present)
- George Scora (absent)

Service Awards for Pioneer Staff were presented to:

- Rhonda Peterson (present)
- Kent Bumiller (absent)

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 pm – dinner followed