## MINUTES June 4, 2007, 3:00pm EBUII 205-206

#### Attending:

Abbaschian, R., Dean Dames, C. Rodgers, V. Ravishankar, C., Associate Dean Dumer, I. Stahovich, T.

Garay, J. Venkatadriagram, S.

Deshusses, M., Chair Liao, J. Venkatram, A.

Payne, T., Chair Molle, M. Wang, J.

Schultz, J., Chair Mulchandani, A. Wyman, C
Myung, N Xu, Z.

Balandin, A. Najjar, W. Yan, Y.

Balandin, A.

Barth, M

Ozkan, C.

Chen, W

Ozkan, M.

Cocker, D

Przymusinski, T.

#### Absent:

Abdollahi, A. Hua, Y. Morikis, D. Aguilar, G. Jiang, Q. Norbeck, J. Anvari. B. Jiang, T. Princevac, M. Beni, G. Jung, H. Roy Chowdhury, A. Kalogeraki, V. Bhanu, B. Shelton, C. Bhuyan, L. Keogh, E. Tan, S. Chen, J. Khizroev, S. Tsotras, V. Chrobak, M. Korotkov, A. Tuncel, E. Ciardo, G. Krishnamurthy, S. Vafai, K. Faloutsos, M. Lake, R. Vahid, F. Farrell, J. Liang, P. Vulley, V. Fleisch, B. Walker, S. Liu, J. Gunopulos, D. Lonardi, S. Wu, J. Lyubomirsky, I. Hackwood, S. Xu, G. Haddon, R. Mahalingam, S. Young, N. Hsieh, H. Matsumoto, M. Zordan, V.

#### Also Attending:

DiGregorio, J.

Barron-Lopez, R. Easterling, R Montoya, E Bingham, B. Foster, C. Peterson, R. Boretz, M. Gerry, C Ray, B. Brewington, J. Hartney, P. Sanders, D Chappell, J. Jahr, N. Willette, T. Chute, R Knight, S. Cleary, J. Li, J.

Martinez, S.

#### 1. Welcome by the Chairperson, Teodor Przymusinski

Teodor Przymusinski welcomed the Dean, Associate Deans, Faculty, and Staff to the meeting.

#### 2. Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from the meeting of November 9, 2006 were unanimously approved as recorded.

#### 3. Executive Committee items for discussion and/or apporval

A. Bahman Anvari's Appointment as the Bioengineering Representative on the BCOE Executive Committee Bahman Anvari was approved by the Faculty to serve as the Bioengineering representative on the BCOE Executive Committee effective September 1, 2007 thorough August 31, 2010.

#### B. Bylaw Changes

The following bylaw changes were approved by the Executive Committee and the BCOE Faculty:

- --EN2.1.1-Changing the term of the Chair of the Faculty from two to three years.
- --EN2.1.2 Changing the term of the Vice Chair from two years to expire at the end of committee membership.
- --EN2.1.3 and 2.1.4 Changing the term of the Secretary and Parliamentarian from one year to expire at the end of the committee membership.
- --EN4.1 & 4.1.1 Changing Executive Committee membership from seven members elected from the faculty of Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering to one member from each of the departments in the college. EN4.1.1a is a transition rule that states the two representatives from Chemical and Environmental Engineering will finish out their current term. This change will also allow for new departments to be added to the committee representation without having to change the Bylaws. There was discussion raised as to why college representation includes an at large faculty member. This issue will be researched.
- --EN4.1.1.4 The Executive Committee would like to add a quorum that applies to the Executive Committee only that would consist of no less than fifty percent of the elected committee faculty members.
- --EN4.2 was a standing Library Committee. This committee has been abolished.
- --EN4.3 was a standing Committee on Honors and Scholarships. This committee has been merged with EN4.4, the standing Undergraduate Education Committee and renamed EN4.2.

These proposed changes will be forwarded to the Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction for review.

# C. Recap of Executive Committee Actions During Teodor Pryzmusinski's Appointment as Chair.

- -- Updated Bylaws
- --Bioengineering Department and Materials Science program approved,
- --Policies regarding Undergraduate Research Scholars and double majors
- --Issues regarding convergence factor, BCOE faculty representation on Academic Senate committees, and course proposal procedures and timelines
- --Reviewed numerous program changes and course proposals

The Chair mentioned that the other colleges are not aware of how much BCOE has grown. It is important that BCOE try to get in equal footing with the other colleges. The Chair also emphasized the importance to make an effort to increase Senate Committee membership, and attend the Senate meetings. Power comes from participation.

#### D. Incoming Chair

Congratulations to Frank Vahid, who will serve as the new chair of the BCOE Executive Committee effective September 1, 2007.

### 4. State of the College Presentation

Dean Abbaschian presented a "State of the College" report. (Copies of the presentation can be obtained from Rachael Easterling).

# New Business

None.

# General Discussions

None.

# Announcements

Associate Dean Chinya Ravishankar presented Professor Junlan Wang with the Teaching Excellence Award

The meeting was adjourned at 4:33pm.