# MINUTES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Bourns College of Engineering September 25, 2006 10:00 A.M. A171 Bourns Hall

## Attending: Teodor Przymusinski, Chair David Cocker Yingbo Hua Stefano Lonardi Tom Stahovich

Dean Reza Abbaschian, *ex officio* Associate Dean Mark Matsumoto, *ex officio* Associate Dean Chinya Ravishankar, *ex officio* Rod Smith

Jerry Schultz, Guest, Bioengineering Department

Absent: Ertem Tuncel Charles Wyman

# **Approval of the Minutes**

The minutes for the meeting of May 3, 2006 were approved by acclamation.

### **Announcements**

## A. Dean

--ABET will be visiting October 8-10. A faculty luncheon will be held tomorrow to address the issues regarding ABET.

### --Recruitment update

-Each department has been given a budget of \$12,000 for this year's recruitment efforts. Each department has their own Search Committee. There is also a search committee in place for the CE-CERT Director. Each department is getting 1 line (additional lines can be requested for exceptional candidates). There is the possibility to hire 5-10 lines.

-A draft of an evaluation for faculty candidates was distributed to the Executive Committee members. This was created to get input from the faculty regarding the candidates through out the recruitment process.

-Marlene Zuk, Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Equity and Diversity, has offered to attend an Executive Committee meeting to discuss how to enhance the diversity of the faculty. Information was distributed to the Executive Committee members with the number of tenure-track and tenured minority faculty members by college as of 10-31-05.

--UCOP had requested policies regarding instructional workload. The current policy that was submitted to UCOP was distributed to the committee members. It was asked if there should be a uniform college policy, or should each department have their own? It was suggested that Reza come up with some suggested policies that Teodor could pass along to the faculty so that the departments could come up with some proposals.

--Departments will begin receiving their own allocation for TA funding that they will be handle independently. It is also anticipated that space will be handled in the same manner.

### **B.** Associate Deans

### Mark Matsumoto

-Mark was asked for the status on AGSM proposal. With a change in Deans in AGSM, there has been no news.

### Chinya Ravishankar

--Ravi mentioned freshman enrollment is currently up 30% from last year. Transfers are at the same number as last year. It is planned to improve transfer enrollment by working together with RCC. This year UCR sent out "111 Facts: Cool Things Smart Students Should Know about UC

Riverside" to high school counselors. A shorter version, "50 Reasons to Learn with the Best" is posted on the UCR website. These both have served as excellent recruitment tools.

--Tara Brown has taken on a new position as student retention coordinator. She will be working with the campus and departments to come up with programs and schemes in regard to student retention.

--Initiatives are underway for creating a new program in BCOE where students can be clustered into "learning communities." This would mean that a group of students would be taking the same courses, with the same theme carried out in each course.

### C. Chair

--Teodor announced the new members of the Executive Committee: Tom Stahovich, Ertem Tuncel, and Charles Wyman.

## Action Items

#### 1. Conflict of Interest Statement

--The conflict of Interest Statement was read to the committee. It was unanimously approved (8-0) and will be forwarded to the Academic Senate office.

#### 2. Appointment of Vice Chair

--Tom Stahovich was nominated and unanimously approved (8-0) for the position of Vice Chair.

### 3. Appointment of Secretary/Parliamentarian

--David Cocker was nominated and unanimously approved (8-0) for the position of Secretary/parliamentarian.

#### 4. Candidates for Student Representative

-- This year there are two senators from College of Engineering on the ASUCR Board. Christopher Salam was nominated and approved unanimously (8-0) to serve as the student representative on the BCOE Executive Committee. He will be notified of his appointment.

### 5. Executive Committee Schedule for Fall Quarter

-- It was decided by the committee that meetings will be held on the following dates for the Fall 2006 quarter:

Monday, October 16, 2006 Monday, November 6, 2006 (if needed) Monday, November 27, 2006

#### 6. Changes to Bylaw EN4.1 -Update

--The Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction has no objections for the proposed changes to the bylaws, but had several comments regarding the wording that may lead to confusion.

The Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction interpretation of the proposed changes to EN4.1 as they are written is that the Vice Chair, Secretary, and Parliamentarian could be assumed as ex-officio members, and will not be among the seven directly elected members of the committee. It was requested that the Executive Committee explicitly state the status and roles of the officers on the committee.

In proposed EN4.1.1 the Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction found the phrase "The Chair of the Faculty and one of the elected members of the Executive Committee" to be misleading in regard to the schedule of elections. It was presumed that this provision would only apply to the first election under the amended bylaw because then that would mean elections in subsequent years could not be held for more than one member of the Executive Committee in any year when a Chair is being elected. As the proposed bylaw is worded, there would be multiple electoral cycles, with a varying number of seats open for election from year to year.

The Executive Committee discussed the suggestions provided by the Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction and approved 8-0 that the following revisions are made to the proposed bylaws so that they read as follows:

EN 4.1 There is an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair of the Faculty, ex officio; the Dean of the college, ex officio; the associate Dean(s) of the college, ex officio; and <u>seven-members</u> of the Faculty as provided in EN4.01.01 below; and a student representative as provided in EN4.1.1.4 below. An elected member is not eligible for immediate reelection unless he/she has completed a term of fewer than 18 months. Eligibility is reestablished after one year of non-service. The Chair, Vice Chair, secretary, and

parliamentarian of the Faculty occupy corresponding offices in the Executive Committee. <u>The Vice Chair</u> and the Secretary/Parliamentarian are elected by the Executive Committee from the existing elected Faculty members of the Executive Committee whenever a vacancy arises.

EN4.1.1.1 The term of office of members of the Executive Committee is <u>three</u> years. <u>The Chair of the</u> Faculty and one of the elected members of the Executive Committee will be elected in the first year following the adoption of this bylaw, two in the second year and the four other elected members of the Executive Committee will be conducted at the expiration of each incumbent's term, or as otherwise provided by these bylaws in the case of a vacancy during an unexpired term. The initial term of the elected Bioengineering representative will expire in 2009.

An updated version of the proposed changes to Bylaw 4.1 will be forwarded to the Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 a.m.