MINUTES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Bourns College of Engineering January 8, 2007 12:30 P.M. A171 Bourns Hall

Attending:Teodor Przymusinski, Chair
Yingbo Hua
Stefano Lonardi
Christopher Salam
Tom Stahovich
Ertem Tuncel
Charles WymanAssociate Dean Chinya Ravishankar, ex officio
Rod SmithAbsent:David Cocker
Dean Reza Abbaschian, ex officio

Approval of the Minutes

The minutes for the meeting of November 27, 2006 were approved by acclamation.

Associate Dean Mark Matsumoto, ex officio

Guest Presentation

Charles Louis, Vice Chancellor for Research, presented to the Executive Committee the University policy and procedures for responding to allegations of research misconduct.

Announcements

A. Associate Deans

Chinya Ravishankar

- --Would like to add double major issue and research courses that Undergraduate Education Committee was charged to review to the agenda.
- --Student Affairs update- Li is on leave so Student Affairs is currently short staffed.

C. Chair

--Due to procedural issues, it is not possible to add an additional COE member to the CAP committee this year. The Academic Senate Chair is looking into what can be done to add COE membership to the CAP committee.

--Would like to add faculty search evaluation forms to the agenda

Action Items

1. Chemical and Environmental Engineering proposed departmental name change to Biomolecular, Chemical, and Environmental Engineering.

--The department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering would like to change the department name to "Biomolecular, Chemical and Environmental Engineering" so that the department name is aligned with what the department already consists of and moving towards.

The Executive Committee voiced concern that this change could have an effect on the new Bioengineering department as it might not be clear what the difference would be between the two departments if the name was changed. There was also concern that there might be a duplication of efforts between the two departments. Since there has not been any communication between Chemical and Environmental Engineering and Bioengineering regarding this change, the Executive Committee approved to table the name change until the two departments have consulted.

2. BCOE Proposed Bylaw changes EN2.1, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4

--The following bylaw changes were approved by the Executive Committee and will be forwarded to the BCOE faculty for review:

--EN2.1.1-Changing the term of the Chair of the Faculty from two to three years.

--EN2.1.2 –Changing the term of the Vice Chair from two years to expire at the end of committee membership.

--EN2.1.3 and 2.1.4 – Changing the term of the Secretary and Parliamentarian from one year to expire at the end of the committee membership.

--EN4.1 & 4.1.1 – Changing Executive Committee membership from seven members elected from the faculty of Bioengineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering to one member from each of the departments in the college. EN4.1.1a is a transition rule that states the two representatives from Chemical and Environmental Engineering will finish out their current term.

--EN4.1.1.4 – The Executive Committee would like to add a quorum that applies to the Executive Committee only that would consist of no less than fifty percent of the elected committee faculty members.

--EN4.2 was a standing Library Committee. This committee has been abolished.

-EN4.3 was a standing Committee on Honors and Scholarships. This committee has been merged with EN4.4, the standing Undergraduate Education Committee and renamed EN4.2.

3. Proposed Research Scholar Program

--The Executive Committee received a memo from Eugene Nothnagel, Chair of the Committee on Educational Policy, which summarized the comments from CNAS, CHASS and CEP regarding the research scholar program proposal. Based on the comments made, the Executive Committee charged the Undergraduate Committee to review the proposal and come up with ideas to present to the committee.

4. Appointment of ad hoc Academic Integrity Committee

--Laura Riley, Director of Student Judicial Affairs has asked for the Executive Committee's help in supplying her with a list of recommended names of faculty members to sit in on COE hearings in the interim until the appointment of faculty to the College Academic Integrity Committees has been approved. The Executive Committee proposed that 1 member from each department be recommended. The following faculty members were suggested by the Executive committee: Stefano Lonardi (CSE) Bhaman Anvari (BIEN) Alexander Korotkov (EE) Jianzhong Wu (CEE) TBD (ME) – Will consult with Tom Stahovich.

5. Courses

--The proposed course BIEN 190, Special Studies, was approved by the Executive committee and forwarded to Committee on Coursed for review.

6. Faculty Candidate Evaluation Forms

--The general opinion of the Committee members is favorable regarding the use of faculty candidate evaluation forms during campus visits. These evaluation forms are being used

in addition to the faculty vote which raises a serious issue. Most of the information asked during a faculty vote is asked on the evaluation form. The faculty vote is confidential, but the evaluation form requires a signature. Feedback form the departments is requested regarding the signature on the form, and what should done.

7. Undergraduate Education Committee Report Regarding the Declaration of Double Majors and Undergraduate Research Courses

--Due to a lack of time and the importance of time to discuss these issues, these items will be added to the January 29th Executive Committee agenda.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:25 p.m.