Science to Policy Program Convocation

Friday, April 20, 2018
Winston Chung Hall 205/206

RSVP Below

Scientists play a critical role in public policy.

Join UC Riverside and the California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) for a convocation on science policy. This event will be the prelude to a series of UCR lectures and discussions as we kick off the start of a new graduate offering - the Science to Policy (S2P) Program. Attendees will explore how a Ph.D. graduate in the sciences can become a welcome, known and trusted voice in public policy at the federal and state levels. Click to view the event flier


If you require parking, please see the map and follow these instructions for obtaining a permit and navigating to the event.

  1. Please pick-up your permit at the UCR Information Kiosk just off of University Ave. on W Campus Dr. Tell the attendant that you are here for the Science to Policy Convocation.
  2. Drive to parking lot 24 which is just off Canyon Crest Dr. Be sure to park in the correct area.  Some spaces are marked differently and parking services may ticket a vehicle which is not parked correctly.
  3. Walk to Winston Chung Hall by walking between the building under constructions and Amy Harrison Field.  You will then turn left before reaching parking lot 19 and proceeding along the sidewalk.  Walk past Aberdeen Dr. and Winston Chung Hall will be on your right
  4. The convocation is in Winston Chung Hall, room 205/206.  This is on the 2nd floor and accessible by the stairs near the Bytes café, by elevator, or from the outside patio.

Featured Speakers Include

Aristides Patrinos

Aristides Patrinos

Chief Scientist, NOVIM
Formerly U.S. Human Genome Project

Jay Obernolte

Assembly Member Jay Obernolte

33rd District
Founder FarSight Studios
M.S. Artificial Intelligence, UCLA '97
B.S. Engineering & Applied Science, CalTech '92

Gabby Nepomuceno

Gabby Nepomuceno

2017 CCST Science & Technology Policy
Fellow in State Legislature
CA Dept of Toxic Substance Control

John Thompson

John Thompson

2017 CCST Science & Technology Policy
Fellow in State Legislature
CA State Senate Office of Research

More announcements to come